The Sew Weekly Reunion

because we missed it…

The “Hiatus Dress” by Debi Fry

close up

The Facts

Fabric: 2 meters of viscose fabric

Pantone Challenge colors: Acai

Pattern: McCall 3939

Year: 1940

Notions: zipper, 1 button

Time to complete: 8 hours

First worn: today, for the photos
Wear again? Oh yes! I love it!!  Can you believe it’s cold enough here to wear long sleeves already?
Total Cost: £12

Screen Shot 2013-09-08 at 17.40.10

Things have been a bit busy around these parts so I was super happy to be able to participate in the Sew Weekly reunion.  It’s been so fantastic to see all the amazing outfits and to see the old gang and some new faces as well!  I’m calling this the ‘Hiatus Dress’ because after a month-long hiatus from sewing due to other commitments, it’s been such a DELIGHT to get back into it!  This also fits with my 1940 McCall project (15 patterns completed so far! woot! woot!).

I had the perfect fabric in my stash in the form of a lovely acai coloured viscose.  After going back and forth on which pattern to sew up, David helped me pick this one!  And it’s a perfect match with the fabric. And the belt buckle comes from one of the first Sew Weekly swaps we did. Such a perfect match!

IMG_6621

I had to grade the pattern down by about 4 inches all around.  The grading was interesting as the bodice consists of some unusually shaped pattern pieces.  In the end, I got the perfect fit but had to fiddle about because the shoulders were a bit too wide.  I ended up setting the sleeves much deeper into the bodice.  The bodice consists of a main waist front piece that is stitched over two gathered waist front side pieces with a lapped seam.  I’m really happy with my seams.  The gathers are a bit uneven on both sides but that sort of thing doesn’t really bother me.

_MG_6557

The bodice is connected to the skirt in a v-shape in the front tapering off to the normal waist at the sides.  Getting everything to sit right was a bit tricky.  There is also a pleat in the front of the skirt, which I’ve left as a soft pleat.  There is a side zipper and a button back neck closure.  Lastly, I made a belt out of matching material.  I think this sort of dress could be worn with or without the belt.

IMG_6593

I made the version with the long tight sleeves. I’m able to pull them over my wrists no problem because of the stretch in the viscose.  The sleeves have a small bit of gathering for elbow ease.

YAY!  Happy to have my first autumn dress and I’ve had so much fun sewing along with everyone!  Thank you!!

IMG_6595

12 comments on “The “Hiatus Dress” by Debi Fry

  1. Loran
    September 8, 2013

    Beautiful!! I love your 1940 sewing project and this dress is wonderful.

  2. Sally {thequirkypeach}
    September 8, 2013

    This is sooo beautiful on you! Very flattering, and I love the color! So perfect for fall! I’ve noticed a lot of sewing bloggers who have made beautiful garments with viscose lately and I’ve never sewn with it, but I love everything I have seen!

  3. The Sew Convert
    September 9, 2013

    This is a stunning dress Debi! Love acai on you and design has such interesting details! Love it!!

  4. Amy
    September 9, 2013

    Beautiful color. It’s amazing that you were able to grade this one down so well. Bravo! And, the gathering at the sleeve elbow is an interesting detail.

  5. Veronica Darling
    September 9, 2013

    Just gorgeous Debi! I’d love to sew with this fabric, and maybe Acai is a good colour with my hair? I’m in love with this pattern too! xoxo

  6. vintagefrills
    September 9, 2013

    This is beautiful, I love the colour as well. I’d love to make a 40s dress one day.

  7. charityshopchic
    September 9, 2013

    You look fantastic, Debi – the colour suits you perfectly. I love the pattern as well – such interesting details. 10/10!

  8. Lisette
    September 9, 2013

    Stunning! Those seams are just amazing.

  9. EmSewCrazy
    September 9, 2013

    Lovely piece. Nice to see another 1940 pattern come alive.

  10. zibergirl
    September 9, 2013

    Wow! That’s an awesome dress and the color is beautiful. Job well done!

  11. Pingback: Nautical Inspired Emery Dress | The Sew Convert

  12. Lee
    September 10, 2013

    Gorgeous dress and beautiful job on the tricky details. Inspiring!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2013 by in Debi Fry, Uncategorized.

Debi Fry

Adey Lim

Sarah Gabbart

Veronica Darling

