The Sew Weekly Reunion

because we missed it…

“Cabbages & Roses” Dress by Trish Blair

trish

The Facts

Fabric: Cotton Lycra Sateen – bought in New Zealand for $50

Notions: One vintage metal zip $1, one organza petticoat $30, plus extra lining fabric

Pantone Challenge colors: Acai and Linden Green

Pattern: Simplicity 3621

trishpattern

Year: 1952

Time to complete: 8-10 hours

First worn: The Fifties Fair, 25 August 2013

Wear again? Yes, but I’m not sure where

Total Cost: $80

Well, this is nice! A Sew Weekly Reunion!

Thanks for stopping by – glad to be back and thanks for organizing ladies.

When I think back to last year, I don’t know how I managed it. Must have been a lot of adrenalin pumping!

I’ve hardly sewn anything this year it seems. A couple of kids’ costumes and some cushions I think! I have been at the gym, which has really helped the sore back I got from so much sewing last year!

So I was relieved that I could use this dress, which I had already started, for this Pantone colour challenge.

It was good to create a whole new dress in a new pattern, and use some colours I wasn’t really sure about.

trish2

This pattern has six pleats on the shoulders

Six sleeve darts

Six bodice darts

Two wrist ties

Four metres of hand sewn hem.

That was a lot of marking in sliver gel pen and tailors tacks. Time consuming, but not difficult.

The skirt pattern is my usual semi circular skirt pattern in 4 gores.

The petticoat I purchased in Linden (um, almost) green – was way too short. So I hacked the top band off and whacked on an extended top tier – in a polka dot lining fabric from my stash.

I was really happy with the dress and I had some lovely compliments the day I wore it. The hat was from an op shop for $10 and I managed to rip the hat elastic off it as I arrived home. My feet were totally filthy from all the dust at the venue

I am feeling very inspired to sew, with the warmest winter in Australia in 150 years, (scary) feeling very much like Spring already. I hope I can make time for it.

___________________________________________________________________

Trish lives in Sydney and has way more thrifted patterns and fabric than her fair share. She studied fashion design in her former life and sews while trying to not to burn the dinner.
For more project photos and what others wore to The Fifties Fair, do check out Trish’s blog at Quiet Vintage Sewing.
11 comments on ““Cabbages & Roses” Dress by Trish Blair

  1. Bethany
    September 7, 2013

    Trish, you look amazing! Like you stepped back in time. You are so lovely and this dress is so lovely. Suits you very well. I cannot believe you put in all that time – you are one patient lil’ lady. So happy to see you again on here.

    • Trish Blair
      September 7, 2013

      Thank you sweetie! There’s nothing like sewing for teaching patience! x

  2. The Sew Convert
    September 7, 2013

    When I saw this dress on Instagram, I thought wow, what a beautiful vintage dress! Then I realized you sewed it!! Truly gorgeous make!

    • Trish Blair
      September 7, 2013

      Thanks Adey, that’s a lovely compliment x

  3. Loran
    September 7, 2013

    Stunning!! Love everything about it : )

    • Trish Blair
      September 7, 2013

      Thanks Loran, means a lot coming from a detail queen like you x

  4. Amanda
    September 7, 2013

    It is wonderful! You look fabulous.

  5. Trish Blair
    September 7, 2013

    Thank you very much Amanda

  6. Gjeometry
    September 7, 2013

    Just a beautiful dress! I love the fabric and colours so much.

  7. Sarah Gabbart
    September 8, 2013

    Stunning! You look like a 1950s model! That fabric is wicked cool too; I love that’s it’s floral and girly, but the way they did the pattern is more abstract and artistic. Neat!

  8. EmSewCrazy
    September 9, 2013

    That dress looks lovely on you. I really need to get a petticoat. They add a lot of fun to these 50s styles.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2013 by in 2013 Contributors, sew weekly reunion, sewalong, sewing challenge, Trish, TSW Reunion 2013.

Debi Fry

Adey Lim

Sarah Gabbart

Veronica Darling

